Print Thread
Hop To
Page 7 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
Originally Posted by Plumdog
Six pages of discussion {argument} about bullets and cartridges. Meanwhile guys can take Elk, Moose, and Bear with longbow and homemade wood arrows. Moral? Get close and learn to shoot.

Years ago some guy proposed the following formula: 1B x 2L = DE. This means 1 bullet/broadhead through 2 lungs equals a dead elk. In my experience it tends to work.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
GB1

P
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
P
I've probably related this before, but I've been shooting 2 cow elk a year for the last 3 years with a 6.5mm to keep the dinner freezer filled. 5 of them with the CM, 1 one with a PRC (it was a little ways out there), and all with the 143 gr. ELD-X.

I was in a small town, old-timey gunstore with an old timer behind the gun counter. He overheard a couple of us chatting about elk hunting and apparently decided he needed to tell that out-of-towner (me) what-for for using a too-light, unethical, and likely illegal cartridge on the precious elk. After asking him when was the last time he'd downed an elk, I simply told him he needed to get out more.

I still puzzle at times about people who get wedded to something and can't look beyond their nose.

Like, right now, I'm using the 9.3x62mm in the hunting rifle challenges 'cause I'm taking it on my next cape buffalo hunt. So far I've only run into 2 issues:

1. Nobody knows what the hell is a 9.3.x62mm, so I just call it the .366 Bock. They're fine with that and nod their head knowingly (?)
2. And then comes the: Cape Buffalo! You crazy? 'Aint that too-small, and probably illegal?

It just don't end ... cry

It's you and the bullet, and all the rest is secondary.
O
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
O
Originally Posted by rusty75
Just booked my 1st western big game hunt.