Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
M
Getting my gear together for the rifle opener in PA and decided to carry a favorite that he made for me a few years back. The Elk Ivories caused him some stress and choice words. Every time I carry it, I have such fond memories of the elk hunt with my brother and father, and just marvel at the craftsmanship.
Some of the best money I’ve ever spent getting this made

[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Just wondering if you know how he secured the ivories?
Im a jeweler by trade and would have thought a bezel would be ideal.
I like your knife a lot. I bezel in rings. Pain is each ivory is different so all bezels are from scratch.

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
Hats off to a nice knife.
I did the same for a customer a few years back. I tapered (carefully) a hole from the
tang side of the scale so the ivory would fit in but not pass out of the exterior of the hole.
I used acrylics to hold them in. Won't try it again. But looks cool.
Good looking knife.

"The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
Albert Einstein

At Khe Sanh a sign read "For those who fight for it, life has a flavor the protected never knew".
M
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
M
He used the same technique as michiganroadkill.
I believe he had to go through a couple of sets of scales. He also said it would probably be the last one he would do.
I haven’t seen too many others that have the ivories I. The scales. It must be a very tricky process.

Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
and impractical as hell......

IC B2

M
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
M
Very nice

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna