Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
P
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
P
Just curious. If you wanted the "Best" 98 action you could get, what would it be? I'm a rookie when it comes to Mausers but I see some bring big money. Just curious as to top choice.

GB1

z1r Online Content
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
Best is a relative term. What is the intended use?

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
And, are we talking about commercial or military?

MM

E
Campfire Oracle
Campfire Oracle
E
Will never own one, but the Granite Mountain Arms M 98 are what I would consider the "best" of the 98 actions.
https://granitemountainarms.com/

Life Member SCI
Life Member DSC
Member New Mexico Shooting Sports Association

Take your responsibilities seriously, never yourself-Ken Howell

Proper bullet placement + sufficient penetration = quick, clean kill. Finn Aagard

Ken
G
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
G
Small ring '98. Lovely lightweight rig.

IC B2

P
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
P
Lets go with Military 98 actions. Maybe something you would build a quality hunting rifle off of. Before I bought a few, I thought the best was a German 98 action. Little did I know there are lots of different 98 actions. A few years later, I still don't really know squat about them but enjoy learning more and more.

T
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T
FN Mauser

F
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
F
I like the '09's, everybody says they are too soft, but I have yet to find one that had lug setback. I got a '35 Peruvian that would be the last rifle to go, but they are pretty much unobtainium.
I think it's time for Iskra to chime in.

Wait, can I add one more to my list? The Persian Mauser by CZ BRNO, but if I had one, I don't think I could bear to modify it. Beautiful.

Last edited by flintlocke; 12/25/23.

Well this is a fine pickle we're in, should'a listened to Joe McCarthy and George Orwell I guess.