Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
Bob33 Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
B
I am a new archer and am planning to hunt for cow elk in Wyoming in September. I'm shooting a Diamond Justice bow that is currently set at 54 pounds. With my current level of proficiency, I will limit shots to an extreme maximum of 35 yards, and would prefer the elk to be 20 yards or closer.

I have been practicing with Gold Tip Expedition Hunter arrows with 100 grain tips. I weighed one of the arrows (with tip) and found it was around 390 grains. Of course I plan to use 100 grain broadheads.

I've read of hunters using much heavier arrows: 500 grains or more.

I've had three archery shops look over my gear without challenging my arrow weight. Am I missing something or making a serious mistake?

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I'm a one year noob, but I do hunt in Wyoming and I do know what people are using around here given the frequency of my visits to the archery shop and the range. I would say your arrow weight and head weight are right in the ballpark of what most compound shooters are using. My combo using the same arrow is about 10 grains lighter. Use what you have. As for performance on elk, I can't help you, because I freaking missed mine last year. mad

"Don't believe everything you see on the Internet" - Abraham Lincoln
B
Bob33 Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
B
Thanks Cheyenne. If you ID is any clue I'll be near you. I drew a cow elk for unit 7.

B
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
B
Bob,
Using the proper arrow for the intended game is largely a function of adequate penetration. Which, in turn, is a function of arrow mass and the velocity at which it leaves your bow.