Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
Maxx Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
M
I am new to speer products, and my 375 H&H is shooting the 270 BTSP's very well....is this bullet similar in construction to the nosler partition?

I am thinking of using this on moose and bear,

thanks

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
No, the Speer boat tail soft point is in no way similar to a Nosler Partition. The Speer is a cup-and core bullet -- a gilding metal jacket surrounding a lead core. The Nosler Partition jacket is divided into two portions, with a lead core in each end separated by a gilding metal "partition". It is designed to blow the front end off for expansion, then the partition end continues through like a solid for penetration.

When it was designed -- perhaps copied from the German H-Mantel might be more accurate -- it was pretty much the only "premium" bullet available to American handloaders. It is an archaic design that has been superceded by better bullets for several decades, but its adherents are feverishly dedicated to it. (I suspect I ought to don my Nomex about now... grin.) I personally do not like them, because I've never been able to get them to shoot worth anything in any of my rifles, and I don't like a bullet designed to blow bits and pieces of it through the animal. Those who like them, though, really like them.

Speer boattails tend to be expremely accurate in every rifle I shoot them in, and perform very well on game up to caribou size or so. I would not use them on moose and bear on purpose, though shooting half an ounce or more of lead and copper tends to correct for a lot of omissions in design. Were I to want to shoot a Speer bullet at moose or bear, I would shoot a 285 gr Grand Slam. I have not tried them in my .375 Ruger, but I have shot a pile of game with 250 GS's in my .35 Whelen, and they worked quite well on elk and moose. My .375 does shoot 270 gr TSX's very well, so you might try them as well.

Dennis