Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 6 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
I can't fathom anyone going into the shop, hearing about the packs from Dana himself, and not coming out owning one. I went in looking for a CC, but even if I hadn't...
My next pack(s) will almost surely be another MR. In my limited experience I have had 2 REI packs, a mammut daypack, have a granite gear daypack, still use 2 Arc'teryx packs (Needle and Bora), and in 80% of circumstances I'd rather have a MR, and their customer service is remarkable. Just this afternoon Andrew helped me re-adjust the frame over the phone and was very patient and articulate. The last gear "salesman" I talked to at REI didn't even know that Integral Designs made bivy sacks (as in the several they carry).
I am not an expert. But, I have no reason to be biased, and no reason to lie. MR is the real deal, and their people have real experience using gear to its limit.

GB1

D
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
D
MR,
I notice the listed weights are close to a pound different for the CBMR behemoth vs the NICE6500. Is that due to material used in the CBMR packs ? Is the frame heavier on the overseas made version ? thanks
Dan

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
Personally I like the G series packs a LOT... Dana, however, has seen fit to offer only two sizes and, try as I might, I fall in between those two. No big deal, there are other packs out there. However, some years back I suggested the upper load lifter attachment point be adjustable as it would be a real help to get more sized folks into the packs.

If a G series fit me I'd be an owner right now. No big deal. I understand the economics of not wanting to offer the something like the four frame sizes like at the old DD.

As to the packs built around the Alice frame, no thanks... the frame is clearly very short for the size loads some of the bags are built for as the pics of Rackmaster's pack above clearly show.