Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I hate boots, but I want to like them.

I have had 3 different pair of cheeper boots, and Im never happy with them. And so, Im not very experienced with boots.

My goal is to find light weight, flexible sole, water proof, high comfort boot that feels like a "tennis-shoe" (or more specific a skateboarding shoe)

Redwing boots is what I have been looking at now. I think they are the most promising prospect (unless someone else has a better suggestion)

SO, THE BIG QUESTION IS, insulated or un-insulated.

insulated version has 400g of thinsulate.

my hunting conditions will include temp range from 70 degrees F to 20 degrees F damp and windy.
sandy conditions. rocky conditions. lots various burrs and anything the desert can grow to poke you.

I am afraid that the insulated version might be too hot on warm/hot days.

Some people have told me that insulation is helpful in cold and irrelevant in the heat. Is that true?

I need the opinions of those with more boot experience

1. I now see the wisdom and merits of much older generations.
2. Technology makes things cheaper, easier, and less labor intensive, but not necessarily better.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
i tend to only wear my boots when there is snow on the ground....in my case i run uninsulated and just wear varying thicknesses of wool socks depending how cold it is and just what i plan on doing....

A serious student of the "Armchair Safari" always looking for Africa/Asia hunting books
S
Campfire Oracle
Campfire Oracle
S
If you ain't sitting in the cold then light insulation will be fine. I've run 200grams for a lot of hunting in Alaska but had some heavier versions for other situations.

I own 1 pair of dress shoes but 10 pair of hunting boots for various purposes/weather conditions.

"Dear Lord, save me from Your followers"
S
Campfire Oracle
Campfire Oracle
S