Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
POC Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I want to put a normal sized [1" tube?] on my 22. It is tapped for a scope mount, and also has integral rails.
Can I just use the 3 tapped holes and put a "regular" size mounting rail on it?
Thanks again...

If anything I state appears to be medical advice, I am not a doctor; be sure to contact your family physician before making any changes in your medical regimine.
GB1

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
Assuming you can find a base that will take 1" rings, yes. The other issue is parallax, of course. Most "regular" scopes are designed to be parallax-free at 100 yards, whereas scopes designed for rimfire use are set for 25 yards. If your eye placement is accurate, that shouldn't make much difference, but it can cause some error. With the very small targets usually shot with a rimfire, it can be a significant issue.

A scope of about 12X and up usually has an adjustable objective for parallax correction, and that can be the solution. I field-tested the inexpensive Millett 4-12X40 Buck Silver scope on a 22 Magnum rifle a while back and found its side-knob AO feature very handy. For the money, it was a very bright and clear scope with good adjustments.

Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult.

L
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
L
what gun? put any reg. scope on a .22 will work but one with adj. parallax is best on my silhoutte guns run either 6-18 or 6.5-20 sometimes 34x or even 36x no problem the "weak link on most scoped .22rimfire is cheap optics

B
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
B
There are rings and bases made to put 1" scopes on 22s.

Last week I took two older Leupolds to their factory and am having them change the parallax from the factory setting of 150 yards to 60 yards, which as I read it is their setting for their rimfire scopes.