Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
B
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
B
Do you have any idea of how much the transfer will set him back in his graduation? Such transfers are not w/o consequences - regardless of the monetary issues.

Save an elk, shoot a cow.
GB1

S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
Tell him to get a JOB.

JOB - the principal activity in your life that you do to earn money

I was working 40 hours a week and getting my undergrad in business. OH, and I graduated in 3.5 years, so I could save 9 G's.

I went to University of Montana for an Undergrad, it was $17,000 a year when I went and I had a few thousand in scholarships. I worked my ass off, got out with a 3.3 which isn't great, but not bad.

My parents saved some money to help with school, but I wasn't going to blow it on a $40,000 a year school which meant I only had a year or two of education, but I was working the whole time, and guiding in the summer to pay for all the extras and to save some money for plans for a house etc in the future.

I had to take some student loans to get a Master's Degree, mortgaged myself to the hilt and bought a house so my fiance and I didn't have to rent. Remodeled the house during my Master's and worked 30+ hours a week to pay the mortgage. Sold the house after my Master's Degree (3.94 GPA), made a nice chunk of change on it, so my school Loans were paid and I had a downpayment on our next house.

IMHO, tell him he can move, but he has to cover the difference in price, (student loans, a job etc). It's NOT your problem, you want to take care of your kid and provide for him, but there is a time he's gotta learn responsibility for his actions, and now seems like a perfect time.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Good job during school? Guaranteed good job when he graduates?

He'd be INSANE to leave that!

Islam is a terrorist organization.

byc Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
Originally Posted by JohnMoses