Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
D
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
D
'sonora, after this year, I might have to take up archery hunting for mulies... smile Too hard to get rifle tags, but man, I do not care for velvet bucks.

ha!

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by dogcatcher223
'sonora, after this year, I might have to take up archery hunting for mulies... smile Too hard to get rifle tags, but man, I do not care for velvet bucks.

ha!

It is a kick in the pants! Seriously a damn good time! It's easy to strip velvet and there is a guy in Iowa that can paint racks and make them look like they would if they had rubbed naturally. He is freaking amazing, in fact, you may know him from the taxidermy world

Drum

J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
HS said....."My guess is that JG could come up here and not be as successful as a Dogcatcher "

I couldn't agree more. I'm not an expert anywhere! You understood my point perfectly well.......there's more to killing them than showing up on good ground.
Dogcatcher makes it sound so ridiculously simple.

It is irrelevant what you think. What matters is the TRUTH.
G
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
If I'd ever killed a buck like that one you got in Mexico, I'd quit mule deer hunting!... grin

J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
I've killed one buck over 190, and two over 200, on public land. I have also hunted some 2nd rate units and didn't see anything over 120....Go ahead, turn me loose...

I love people that brag about their private land hunting accomplishments.

Not bragging. Point being they're here, and you wouldn't know where to start with 65,000 acres of sand, few roads, no elevation, and one deer per 1000 acres. You wouldn't have any Christmas money left. smile

IC B2

J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
Originally Posted by GreatWaputi
If I'd ever killed a buck like that one you got in Mexico, I'd quit mule deer hunting!... grin