-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 16 of 33 1 2 14 15 16 17 18 32 33
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
That doesn't surprise me. I'd understood that his theory has been tweaked extensively since 18-whatever-it-was. But I'm no expert and will listen.

Look... in my heart of hearts it would not surprise me one bit if life on earth had been seeded, or if there have been interventions along the way. That'd be COOL, actually. It may turn out that this is the conclusion humanity eventually comes to- that Darwinism was wrong to some degree and that the evolution of life has been tweaked or guided to some extent. That is absolutely possible as far as I'm concerned.

So I'm onboard with that possibility.

Where I part ways with the modern Creationist movement is that they are attempting to insert their religion, Christianity, into this... They are trying to literally change the textbooks in our public schools to insert their religion as if it was valid science. That is NUTS. It's just as nuts as if the people who believe in the Mordak stuff below were trying to get their religion put into the textbooks.

"Marduk Creates the World from the Spoils of Battle

����� In the beginning, neither heaven nor earth had names. Apsu, the god of fresh waters, and Tiamat, the goddess of the salt oceans, and Mummu, the god of the mist that rises from both of them, were still mingled as one. There were no mountans, there was no pasture land, and not even a reed-marsh could be found to break the surface of the waters.

����� It was then that Apsu and Tiamat parented two gods, and then two more who outgrew the first pair. These further parented gods, until Ea, who was the god of rivers and was Tiamat and Apsu's geat-grandson, was born. Ea was the cleverest of the gods, and with his magic Ea became the most powerful of the gods, ruling even his forebears.