Campfire Ranger
S
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
What is the trigger like on the shotgun? How does it balance? What distance will you be shooting? My Encore Muzzle loader with 90grains of BH209, Hornady 250 grain bullets, black sabots, Zeiss 3-9 x 36MC diavari will put 3 under 2 inches at 100 yards, but I don't shoot it a lot. The BH209 cleans up without water and does smoke but not as much. I used 777 for years and it was awful as was pyrodex. BH209 is the way to go. The Encore kills with one shot, and hits where I aim. The balance is forward making it easy to hit with off hand. I have killed only 14 deer with a muzzle loader and none with a slug gun so I am not an expert on slug guns. I used buckshot as a kid. If I had it to do over again I would buy the CVA model break open gun that takes rifle barrels as well over the Encore.

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I'd say a slug gun, if for no other reason than faster re-loads.

...and I'm not exactly unfamiliar with fine Muzzle loading arms, either.

I'll tell ya' one thing.

This "Muzzy" designation I see being used here is about the stupidest thing I've seen or heard this year, thus far.

GTC

Member, Clan of the Border Rats
-- “Sometimes I wonder whether the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on or by imbeciles who really mean it.”- Mark Twain

J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
right up there with "shotty"

IC B2

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I'd venture those using it wouldn't shy away from calling you "dude," either.

GTC

Last edited by crossfireoops; 01/27/14.

Member, Clan of the Border Rats
-- “Sometimes I wonder whether the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on or by imbeciles who really mean it.”- Mark Twain

C
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
C
Maybe once.

"The number one problem with America is, a whole lot of people need shot, and nobody is shooting them."
-Master Chief Hershel Davis

M
Campfire Kahuna
Online Content