Home

Something I find interesting is the hunting knives people use, not so much the knives we treasure or lust after...more the blades we actually use when the need arises, the hunting blades we judge all others by.

For instance I have a bit of a liking for various Randalls...but when I am after meat I resort to this one.

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Not sexy or cute by any means...but it is the knife I trust most for working carcases in the paddock.
As an afterthought I am adding pictures of what I carry for sharpening when walking about. I tend to use it as a steel but it works fine when used as a stone.

It is a 12" length of oval ceramic that has shewn itself to be surprisingly tough...I have been using it for some 10 years and in the next few weeks I intend to make up a heavy sheath that will allow me to use the sheath as a handle, and will feature a built in guard.

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
I agree. I have Winston’s, Marbles, Ingram and others that I like and are prettier but a Cold Steel USA made Carbon V Hunter with rubber scales and a nylon sheets is my no hassle do anything knife that I use most.
Originally Posted by TheLastLemming76
I agree. I have Winston’s, Marbles, Ingram and others that I like and are prettier but a Cold Steel USA made Carbon V Hunter with rubber scales and a nylon sheets is my no hassle do anything knife that I use most.

Pretty much ditto..
I also have knives I lusted after a few Fallknivens and others. The one I always use is a Swedish Sandvic blade blank handled with an antler cut off at the skull with nickel silver guard and butt décoration. I harvested the buck with a recurve bow and handled the knife myself. I've used it for 30 years. Made one for my son off the other side. Seems like I'd be cheating on it if I used another knife.
Somewhere out there someone is scratching their head trying to figure out how you can possibly get along without a blade made of at least S30V.