Hop To
Page 7 of 14 1 2 5 6 7 8 9 13 14
B
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
B
Originally Posted by ttpoz
Ive enjoyed following this thread. I've killed elk with a number of cartridges from 243 to 45/70. Bullets have been cup and core, partitions, and TTSX's. All the bullets have worked well. The chamberings I've used most are the 338 WinMag with partitions and the 270 with mono's. I've no experience with Bergers, Scenars, bondeds (on elk), or mono's designed to shed petals. I might also note that my experience with TTSX's has been with using them relatively light for caliber and driven fast. I'd like to try 168 grainers from a 308 or '06. Anyway, I'll share a few opinions:

Number 1 - Saddlesore is right, finding elk is where the conversation begins.
Number 2 - Bullet placement trumps all.
Number 3 - If the question involves hunting big game, "Partitions" is always a good answer.
Number 4 - A solidly constructed cup 'n' core works well especially at velocities below 2800 or so fps and when they are on the heavy side for caliber.
Number 5 - Mono's excel with speed. They're great for neck shooters or for the high shoulder shot. They seem to be the kings of penetration.

Thanks to all who've contributed to this thread, good info.

I'd agree with this at all but longer ranges.

Bb

GB1

B
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
B
My brother, kids and I have been using monos exclusively for over ten years.
You will never convince me they kill as abruptly as lead and copper bullets.
I get it that guys like two holes. The problem is the exits are often small to the point they don't bleed well at all.
Mono uses suggest aiming for bone for a reason.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by colorado