-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
C
C
KevinGibson- I have had the honor of introducing quite a few women to shooting handguns. I actually have quite a few handguns that serve only as trainers for new shooters. After being familiarized with a variety of autoloaders and revolvers, the split between wheelguns and autos has been right at 50/50 for new women shooters. Fit seems to be the biggest issue. Also, several have said that autos do not feel "real"- which is directly related to the confidence issue you mentioned.

I tend to think the best course is to take a trip to the range and let them figure out what they like!

GB1

P
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
P
High scores are not the goal to begin with. I'm aware that women can do very well with an auto and revolver as I was a basic marksmanship instructor in my unit. We often had other units "piggyback" on our ranges. Everyone had a PMI class before taking the range. So I've been there and done that.

My reason for starting on a DA revolver is simplicity, my reason for recommending them for training and basic skills development or home defense is again simplicity. Every shot is trigger and sighting work, it requires special attention to create fail to fire, feed and eject scenarios with automatics.

I see no reason for women to avoid an auto pistol that fits them once past the basics, then this goes for everyone IMO. There are many reasons to recommend an auto, capacity, concealability ergonomics etc. Starting on a DA .22 rimfire revolver makes even more sense.

D
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
D
My adult daughter is looking for a concealed carry and home defense firearm, so I've been giving this very question a lot of thought. I can't say that I have a definitive answer, but here's the list I have so far, in no particular order: