Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
T
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
T
Google, "cat's sneeze", you will find some interesting reading on the Finn's use of reduced loads.

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by Dew
Rogue, do you remember that amount of BD that you were using that was too hot a load?

Montana Marine...
Thank you for the information. It looks like we are getting somewhere on the use of BD.

Dew

It was well below the max data listed by MM. I dropped down what I figured to be a safe amount, touched off what I thought was a safe starting load and whammy. Just popped the primer, didn't damage the extractor. It was with LC brass so who knows. I still us BD a lot but use a much lower starting load.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I have no personal experience with Blue Dot in rifle loads.....nor do I have a dog in that fight.....my reasoning is simply that if the manufacturer (Alliant) doesn't recommend it then I don't use it!

I'm not sure if Al Gore invented the internet.....but of this I am sure....the internet has invented a helluva lot of experts and some are truly worth listening to.....but sorting them all out is beyond me so I confine myself to published loads from the manufacturers and those with pressure testing equipment such as Hornady et al.....

So far I have all my fingers, both my eyes, and haven't blown up a gun. It's a lot more fun that way.

M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
Originally Posted by Dew
I see these reduced loads for Blue Dot all over the forum. I've YET to see any PRESSURE numbers. Where are the pressure numbers?
I'm not going to load any reduced Blue Dot until I see some. This story about "it is safe in my rifle" just means to me that the rifle in question didn't blow up.

Where are you guys that are using Blue Dot in rifle cartridges getting your information, please?

Any writers have any pressure readings from the Alliant people?